Posted by: byrdeyeview | July 31, 2009

Subconscious Art

Untitled. Oil. 36"x24". 2003

Untitled. Oil. 36"x24". 2003

This is a untitled painting I did in 2003 during a 3 month exercise. During these 3 months I challenge myself to paint one painting every week. This may come easy for some artist, but this was difficult for me. I work full-time as a graphic designer, I’m a husband, and father… wait a minute I wasn’t a father yet, but I was a husband. Normally, I don’t have time to paint every week. And when I do paint sometimes it takes me 3-4 weeks just to finish one piece. But, I like to push myself and test my will power to see what I’m made of. This was a good period for me, I was totally out of my element. I took the challenge seriously, my back was up against the wall and I felt the pressure.

The first painting I already knew what I wanted to do. I finished the painting with time to spare. I was shocked, I’ve never finished a painting so fast. The next few weeks followed with the same result. But, half way during the second month things really started to get difficult. I’m the type of artist that likes to know what I’m going to paint before I start, but by this time I’d run out of ideas. But, I still had to paint. I had to tap into my subconscious.

It felt great to paint without any conceived thought. I produced some good art work. I learned a lot about myself during this exercise. I reached my goal and I was proud of myself. I grew as a artist and I learned what I’m made of. The good stuff.


Leave a comment

Categories